Portugal name EURO 2024 squad, Cristiano Ronaldo included

Portugal name EURO 2024 squad, Cristiano Ronaldo included
Portugal name EURO 2024 squad, Cristiano Ronaldo included

Africa-Press – Eritrea. Portugal on Tuesday named their star-studded UEFA EURO 2024 squad that included 39-year-old forward Cristiano Ronaldo.

In a statement, the Portuguese Football Federation confirmed Ronaldo’s inclusion in its 26-man squad for this summer’s European football championship in Germany, known as EURO 2024.

Portugal boss Roberto Martinez selected Ronaldo for the EURO 2024 duty.

The Al-Nassr star is set to play his sixth EURO as Ronaldo previously played for his nation in 2004, 2008, 2012, 2016, and 2020.

Ronaldo, who scored 128 goals in 206 international appearances, helped Portugal win EURO 2016 by beating hosts France 1-0 in Saint-Denis.

Ronaldo was 19 when he played in the EURO 2004 final on home soil, where Portugal were stunned by the tournament’s surprise package Greece 1-0 in the Lisbon final.

In the EURO 2024 group stage, Portugal will face the Czech Republic, Georgia, and Türkiye.

The European international football tournament will be held in Germany in June and July.

In addition, Manchester United star Bruno Fernandes, Manchester City pair Bernardo Silva and Ruben Dias, Paris Saint-Germain forward Goncalo Ramos and AC Milan star Rafael Leao were among those who were called for the national duty in Germany.

Portugal’s EURO 2024 squad is as follows:

Goalkeepers: Diogo Costa (Porto), Jose Sa (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Rui Patricio (Roma)

Defenders: Antonio Silva (Benfica), Danilo Pereira (Paris Saint-Germain), Diogo Dalot (Manchester United), Goncalo Inacio (Sporting Lisbon), Joao Cancelo (Barcelona), Nelson Semedo (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Nuno Mendes (Paris Saint-Germain), Pepe (Porto), Ruben Dias (Manchester City)

Midfielders: Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United), Joao Neves (Benfica), Joao Palhinha (Fulham), Otavio Monteiro (Al Nassr), Ruben Neves (Al-Hilal) and Vitinha (Paris Saint-Germain)

Forwards: Bernardo Silva (Manchester City), Cristiano Ronaldo (Al Nassr), Diogo Jota (Liverpool), Francisco Conceicao (Porto), Goncalo Ramos (Paris Saint-Germain), Joao Felix (Barcelona), Pedro Neto (Wolverhampton Wanderers) and Rafael Leao (AC Milan).​​​​​​​

For More News And Analysis About Eritrea Follow Africa-Press


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here