Incumbent MP, Cynthia Morrison loses Agona West parliamentary bid

Incumbent MP, Cynthia Morrison loses Agona West parliamentary bid
Incumbent MP, Cynthia Morrison loses Agona West parliamentary bid

Africa-Press – Ghana. The incumbent Member of Parliament (MP) for the Agona West constituency, Cynthia Mamle Morrison, has been defeated in the Saturday NPP parliamentary primaries.

She lost her bid to represent the party to Chris Arthur. The chairperson of the Communications Committee of Parliament polled 152 against Arthur’s 240 votes.

Delegates in the constituency could not participate in the parliamentary primary held on January 27 following an injunction application secured by one of the aspirants, Joseph Afankwa, for his disqualification.

After a three- to four-month legal battle, the party slated April 13 for the primary, with Joseph Adankwa participating in the contest.

About 900 delegates cast their votes in today’s exercise.

The exercise was peaceful and smooth, except for a few delegates who could not find their names in the album but were sorted out later.

The outcome of the primaries shows that Madam Morrison will join the list of 28 NPP incumbent Members of Parliament who were defeated in the January 27 parliamentary election held across the nation.

Also, prior to the January 27 internal elections, some NPP MPs voluntarily stepped down from the contest.

Here are the experienced NPP MPs who will not be in Parliament in 2025

Notably, the former majority leader, Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu, MP for Saume, and the 1st deputy speaker, Joseph Osei-Owusu (popularly known as Joe Wise), MP for Bekwei, both in the Ashanti Region.

Other bigwigs that stepped down include the Chairman of the Mines and Energy Committee of Parliament, Samuel Atta Akyea, MP for Abuakwa South. Assin Central’s Kennedy Ohene Agyapong also stepped down and will not be seen in the 9th parliament.

For More News And Analysis About Ghana Follow Africa-Press


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here