Ruto appoints tribunal to try 4 IEBC Commissioners

Ruto appoints tribunal to try 4 IEBC Commissioners
Ruto appoints tribunal to try 4 IEBC Commissioners

Africa-Press – Kenya. President William Ruto has appointed High Court Judge Aggrey Muchelule to chair a tribunal that will investigate the embattled IEBC Commissioners.

Ruto also appointed Carolyne Kamende Daudi, Linda Gakii Kiome, Mathew Njaramba Nyabena, Col. (Rtd.) Saeed Khamis Saeed as members of the tribunal.

Kibet Kirui Emmanuel, Irene Tunta Nchoe have been appointed joint secretaries.

The tribunal’s lead counsel will be Peter Munge Murage who will be assisted by Zamzam Abdi Abib.

“The mandate of the Tribunal shall be to consider the Petition for the removal of (1) Juliana Whonge Cherera, (2) Francis Mathenge Wanderi, (3) Irene Cherop Masit and (4) Justus Abonyo Nyang’aya from office as members of Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) and to inquire into the allegations therein,” the President said in a gazette notice.

The tribunal’s appointment follows a report by parliament recommending the same.

After probing, the tribunal will prepare and submit a report and its recommendations there on expeditiously.

The National Assembly voted Thursday night-after extending sittings beyond the normal time-to adopt a committee report that recommended for their ejection.

The four are Vice Chairperson Juliana Cherera, Justus Nyang’aya, Francis Wanderi and Irine Masit.

The Justice and Legal Affairs Committee confirmed that the four petitions that were seeking for the removal of the four met the threshold for them to be kicked out of office.

For More News And Analysis About Kenya Follow Africa-Press


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here