Majoro shakes up Cabinet again

Majoro shakes up Cabinet again
Majoro shakes up Cabinet again

Africa-PressLesotho. Barely a year since assuming premiership position, the Prime Minister (PM) Dr. Moeketsi Majoro has introduced the second changes to his led administration.

These changes came into effect on Friday as he introduced new members to the Cabinet. These set of changes come following the sacking of the then Minister of Agriculture and Food Security Hon.

Tefo Mapesela on April 14 and the Ministers of Law and Justice Prof. Nqosa Mahao, Forestry, Range and Soil Conservation Hon. Motlatsi Maqelepo, Police and Public

Safety Hon. ‘Mamoipone Senauoane and the Deputy Minister of Health Hon. Nto Moakhi on April 22. Earlier in February the PM introduced changes to his led cabinet, a move which saw the two Ministers receiving

marching orders; the former Ministers of Labour and Employment and Defence and National Security Hon. Keketso Rantšo and Hon. Prince Maliehe respectively.

This past Friday saw the reshuffling; incoming new ministers and deputy ministers, transfers, promotions and new appointees. The new appointees to the Cabinet are: Hon.

Halebonoe Setšabi the Minister of Defence and National Security, Police and Public Safety occupying the office after short stint of his predecessor Hon.

Lekhetho Mosito who resigned shortly following his appointment. Also new appointees are: Hon Lehlohonolo Moramotse and Hon. ‘Mamookho Phiri who are the

incoming Ministers of Local Government and Chieftainship and Education and Training respectively. Former Deputy Minister of Water Hon. Lepota Sekola has been promoted to the Ministerial position and he is now

occupying Police and Public Safety portfolio. Hon. Likopo Mahase received an upward mobility from Deputy Minister of Agriculture and Food Security to the

Minister in the same portfolio. The incoming Deputy Ministers and also new faces to the cabinet are: Hon. Tumahole Lerafa going to Justice and Law, Hon.

Letsitsi Mokoma appointed to Agriculture and Food Security, Hon. Mankoe Maime going to Water portfolio and Hon. ‘Maletsema Letsoepa-Lenkoane going to Education and Training.

Advocate Lekhetho Rakuane has been transferred from the Ministry of Tourism, Environment and Culture to Law and Justice. Hon. Tsoinyane Rapapa, the former

Minister of Local Government and Chieftainship will now fill the shoes of Hon. Keketso Sello taking over the Ministry of Communications, Science and Technology and Sello will replace Hon.

Motlohi Maliehe at the Public Service who will return to his previously held post at Forestry, Range and Land Conservation. Former Minister of Education and

Training Hon. Ntlhoi Motsamai will take over the Ministry of Tourism, Environment and Culture. Addressing the media on the reshuffling of cabinet on Friday, the incoming Minister of Communications, Science and

Technology Rapapa said Prof. Mahao formed a new political party called Basotho Action Party (BAP) and Mapesela’s Basotho Progressive Party (BPP) while Hon.

Nyapane Kaya defected to Movement for Economic Change (MEC). “These changes caused the numbers of All Basotho Convention (ABC) in parliament to decrease

from 47 to 36,” he said. Rapapa further said the two leading parties in the coalition being ABC and Democratic Congress (DC) reached a conclusion to fill the six new positions whereby ABC filled four positions while DC filled

two. He said hence DC took over the Ministry of Law and Justice where they have both the Minister and the Deputy Minister. ABC on the other hand filled the

positions of the Minister of Agriculture and Food Security, Forestry, Range and Land Conservation, Defence and National Security and Police and Public Safety.

The reshuffle was done in line with the section 87 (4) read with section 89 of the Constitution, which empower the PM to advise His Majesty to appoint Ministers and Deputy Ministers to the cabinet.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here