Libbok returns at No 10, Fourie leads Stormers for Sharks clash

Libbok returns at No 10, Fourie leads Stormers for Sharks clash
Libbok returns at No 10, Fourie leads Stormers for Sharks clash

Africa-Press – South-Africa. Manie Libbok will start at flyhalf for the Stormers as John Dobson named his team to take on the Sharks in the only United Rugby Championship clash this weekend.

The Stormers travel to Durban for the fixture, with veteran Deon Fourie captaining the side.

After being forced to pull out of the team to face Ulster last week, Clayton Blommetjies returns at fullback, while there’s a first start for Seabelo Senatla, who last played for the Stormers in September last year.

In the forwards, hooker Joseph Dweba and prop Neethling Fouche return after they were rested last week, while there’s also a return from injury for Gary Porter, who will lock down with Ruben van Heerden.

The loose trio comprises Marcel Theunissen at No 8 and Junior Pokomela and Fourie on the flanks.

There is a potential Stormers debut for loose forward Keke Morabe, who is joined on the replacements bench by two backs in Paul de Wet and Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu.

Dobson was happy to be able to call on the returning players and acknowledged that a local derby was always a difficult match.

“The players we rested last week have all played a prominent role in our preparations this week, which is very encouraging,” said Dobson

“Any South African derby away from home is a tough assignment, so we will have to be as sharp as ever,” he added.

The match kicks off at 14:00 on Saturday.


15 Aphelele Fassi, 14 Marnus Potgieter, 13 Ben Tapuai, 12 Rohan Janse van Rensburg, 11 Thaakir Abrahams, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Cameron Wright, 8 Phepsi Buthelezi (captain), 7 Henco Venter, 6 James Venter, 5 Gerbrandt Grobler, 4 Hyron Andrews, 3 Carlu Sadie, 2 Kerron van Vuuren, 1 Ntuthuko Mchunu

Substitutes: 16 Dan Jooste, 17 Dian Bleuler, 18 Hanro Jacobs, 19 Reniel Hugo, 20 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 21 Bradley Davids, 22 Lionel Cronje, 23 Yaw Penxe


15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Suleiman Hartzenberg, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Dan du Plessis, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Manie Libbok, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Marcel Theunissen, 7 Junior Pokomela, 6 Deon Fourie (captain), 5 Gary Porter, 4 Ruben van Heerden, 3 Neethling Fouche, 2 Joseph Dweba, 1 Brok Harris

Replacements: 16 Andre-Hugo Venter, 17 Ali Vermaak, 18 Sazi Sandi, 19 Ben-Jason Dixon, 20 Willie Engelbrecht, 21 Keke Morabe, 22 Paul de Wet, 23 Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu

For More News And Analysis About South-Africa Follow Africa-Press


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here