Moerat leads Stormers against Dragons, Libbok at 10 and Roos sidelined

Moerat leads Stormers against Dragons, Libbok at 10 and Roos sidelined
Moerat leads Stormers against Dragons, Libbok at 10 and Roos sidelined

Africa-Press – South-Africa. Springbok lock Salmaan Moerat will lead the Stormers in Saturday’s URC clash against Welsh side Dragons in Gqeberha.

Moerat is joined in the second row by fellow Springbok lock Marvin Orie, while flyhalf Manie Libbok and replacement loose forward Deon Fourie also make their return from national duty.

Regular No 8 Evan Roos is sidelined with a rib injury picked up during the Springboks’ year-end European tour. This means Hacjivah Dayimani will start at No 8.

Flankers Willie Engelbrecht and Nama Xaba also come into the starting line-up, as well as loosehead prop Kwenzo Blose.

In the backline, Tristan Leyds makes his first appearance of the season at right wing, along with outside centre Ruhan Nel who returns from an injury picked up in pre-season.

Springbok Herschel Jantjies starts at scrumhalf to form a halfback combination with Libbok, while utility back Mnombo Zwelendaba is set to make his Stormers debut from the bench.

Stormers John Dobson said they were eager to showcase their talents to fans in the Eastern Cape.

“We know that the people of Gqeberha have plenty of passion for our team, so we can’t wait to get out there and experience the atmosphere at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium.

“There have been a number of changes and we are excited to see how the players coming in make an impact on Saturday,” Dobson said.

The Stormers are fourth on the URC table with five wins from seven matches, while the Dragons are 11th with three wins from eight.

Saturday’s clash at Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium kicks off at 14:00.

Stormers team:

15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Tristan Leyds, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Dan du Plessis, 11 Leolin Zas, 10 Manie Libbok, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Hacjivah Dayimani, 7 Willie Engelbrecht, 6 Nama Xaba, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 Salmaan Moerat (captain), 3 Neethling Fouche, 2 Joseph Dweba, 1 Kwenzo Blose

Substitutes: 16 JJ Kotze, 17 Brok Harris, 18 Lee-Marvin Mazibuko, 19 Connor Evans, 20 Deon Fourie, 21 Paul de Wet, 22 Kade Wolhuter, 23 Mnombo Zwelendaba.

For More News And Analysis About South-Africa Follow Africa-Press


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here