IEBC Commissioners Elect Chebukati’s Deputy

IEBC Commissioners Elect Chebukati's Deputy
IEBC Commissioners Elect Chebukati's Deputy

Africa-PressKenya. The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) commissioners on Wednesday, September 15, elected Juliana Whonge Cherare as its new vice-chairperson.

In a statement, IEBC chairman Wafula Chebukati indicated that Cherare was unanimously elected during a plenary meeting held at the Commission Boardroom on Tuesday.

The electoral body further assured all stakeholders and the public of its commitment to delivering a free, fair and credible general election in 2022.

“The commission takes this opportunity to congratulate Cherera on her appointment,” reads the statement in part.

The IEBC has been without a chairperson since the resignation of Connie Maina in 2018.

The statement came just moments after the Catholic Bishops urged the Commission to move with speed and put in place in good time the necessary systems and processes to ensure free and fair elections.

In particular, the bishops urged the commission to hire a new CEO.

“The hiring must kick-off to ensure no room is left for doubting the competency and integrity of IEBC,” reads the statement.

Four new IEBC commissioners were sworn in on Thursday, September 2, at the Supreme Court grounds in Nairobi.

The four are; Juliana Cherera, Francis Wanderi, Irene Cherop, and Justus Abonyo.

The six are expected to serve a six-year term.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here