Ministry of Education Responds to Uproar on Uhuru Donating School Buses

Ministry of Education Responds to Uproar on Uhuru Donating School Buses
Ministry of Education Responds to Uproar on Uhuru Donating School Buses

Africa-PressKenya. The Ministry of Education, on Tuesday, September 14, defended President Uhuru Kenyatta against allegations that he used government funds to purchase buses he donated to schools.

A Twitter page dubbed Teachers in Kenya Online, claimed that the Head of State spent billions in financing buses for schools yet the education sector was facing more critical challenges.

Among those was the implementation of the Competency-Based-Curriculum (CBC) and the lack of infrastructure in schools.

“President Uhuru Kenyatta always gets his priorities wrong in the education sector. Using billions to buy school buses for select schools is not a priority.

“Schools are not transport companies. Let him employ more teachers, build classrooms and stop the CBC,” the page which has over 30,000 followers claimed.

In response, the Ministry of Education, under CS George Magoha, clarified how school buses are purchased and how the capitation fee is utilised in the institutions.

The capitation grant provides recurrent funding to all public primary and secondary schools in Kenya. Each primary school and secondary school student is allocated Ksh1,420 and Ksh22, 244 respectively.

“It is the schools that buy the buses, not the government. The ministry of education does not sanction such misplacement of resources.

“The capitation government sends to schools has no provision for school buses but on tuition and infrastructure,” the ministry stated.

President Kenyatta, on Friday, September 10, donated 10 buses to Tumutumu Secondary School for the deaf in Nyeri County, Marifano High School in Tana River County, Achego Girls In Kisumu County and Olorukuti Secondary School in Narok County.

Other groups and communities who benefited included, the Catholic Women Association of Maralal Diocese and Marafiki Football club in Nyeri County, Rukanga Secondary School in Kirinyaga County, Mnagei Secondary School in West Pokot County and AIC Moi Girls Maralal and Kisima Girls from Samburu County.

The event was held at State House, Nairobi.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here