Owuor names final 12-man Kenya Morans squad ahead of AfroBasket Qualifiers


Author: Washington Onyango
AfricaPress-Kenya: The final list of the Kenya national basketball team set to play in the AfroBasket Qualifiers from November 25 is out.

Kenya Morans head coach Cliff Owuor on Friday named a 12-man squad for Fiba Afrobasket qualifiers to be held in Kigali, Rwanda from Wednesday next week.

All the six foreign-based professionals have made the team among them Preston Bungei who will be playing for Morans for the first time.

Also in the team is Ronnie Gundo who arrived on Thursday from his Spain base while Tylor Okari and Desmond Owili are expected over the weekend.

Other members of the 12-man squad include Fahim Juma of Thunder, Bush Wamukota of Rwanda Partriots, Valentine Nyakinda of KPA, Fidel Okoth of Strathmore University Blades, Algeria-based Airel Okal, Victor Bosire and Eric Mutoro of Ulinzi.

However, Morans captain Griffin Ligare was a surprise omission from the 12-member team.

The free-scoring Ligare who has been the team’s mainstay in the back court has been left behind due to work commitments.

His place has been taken by Kenya Ports Authority utility player Victor Odendo.

Head Coach Owuor said Ligare who is a teacher by profession could not get a release from his place of work.

The team is set to leave the country on Sunday (tomorrow) for Kigali ahead of their opening match against Senegal on Wednesday.

Morans are in group ‘B’ of the qualifiers which also has Senegal, Mozambique and Angola.

Kenya Morans Squad

Point guard

Victor Bosire (Ulinzi Warriors)

Eric Mutoro (Ulinzi Warriors)

Shooting guards

Tylor Okari (Bakkan Bears-Denmark)

Fahim Juma (Thunder)

Victor Odendo (KPA)

Small forwards

Valentine Nyakinda (KPA)

Airel Okal (Algeria)

Fidel Owuor ( Strathmore)


Desmond Blacio Owili (Australia)

Preston Bungei (unattached)

Ronnie Gundo( unattached)

Bush Wamukota ( Patriots Rwanda)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here